top of page

Birchbox Review - January 2018


As a new addition to the year I thought I would try out a subscription box and was instantly drawn to the Birchbox one as they offered a free Spectrum brush with my first box and as I have been interested in purchasing one of their brushes for a long time I thought why not. The boxes are priced at £10 each plus £2.95 postage and packaging. They do offer student discount, however with student discount you do not receive your free gift for signing up if you do this so I chose no student discount and get the free gift instead as the Spectrum brush was what drew me in originally.

At first look I was quite surprised at how small it was. This isn't an issue it just always appeared so much bigger in other peoples Instagrams. The box it arrived in was designed by Ohh Deer which always create things with beautiful patterns and designed so that was a nice surprise and addition to the box. Also really happy that nothing arrived broken especially as it had eye shadows. Now lets get into the products.

1. Afterspa Makeup Remover - £5.50

This product really peaked my interest when I opened it as I have always wanted to try one of these 'magic' makeup remover sort of things and although it is a sample size it is the perfect side to get off eye makeup and you could probably very easily do your entire face with it.

2. Pop Beauty Palette - £15.50

I was quite excited about this product when I was shown that it was my free gift as I am a sucker for eye shadows. However, when it arrived I realised the colours were very plain and the pigmentation wasn't anything to shout about. Although, I will give this a try on my eyes and see how it performs but my hopes aren't very high.

3. Marcelle Waterproof Eyeliner in Charcoal - £10.99 now £4.40

I have been using the same eyeliner for my waterline since I was probably 14 which cannot be sanitary but it's not something I use very often unless I'm off to my local night out but when I tried this out it had the same staying power and colour as my Mally waterproof eyeliner and I knew this would be the perfect replacement for it.

4. Laura Mercier Foundation Primer in Radiance - £29.00

This product is the definition of perfect timing. The morning of this arriving I was squeezing the very last bits of my usual primer out of the tube and admitting defeat that I would need to go get a new tube of primer. I tried this on a night out and kept my makeup perfectly in place from 9pm till 5am when I finally took it off, with the added benefit that it also gave a glow to my face. Not in a way that I looked like I had highlighter all over my face but more like I looked healthy which is definitely what I needed and covered up the fact I was still hungover.

5. Lord and Berry Blusher Crayon in Peach - £15.00

This was my full size product from the set. As a none blush wearer I wasn't exactly shouting from the roof tops about it. However it is a super pretty colour and will look lovely in spring and summer to add some much needed colour to my face as I am always very pale so I am holding out hope for this product.

6. Spectrum Collection Marbleous Black B04 Brush - £5.99

As someone has wanted to try out Spectrum brushes for a long time this is what drew me into get this Birchbox and sacrifice my student discount. This brush is specifically for blending out products. Excited to give it a try and maybe might be featured in my monthly favourites if it's as good as everyone tells me they are.

7. Orbie Dry Texturizing Spray - £41.00

Never knew I needed this in my life until I had it. Put it in my hair before a night out and my hair has never looked so alive and like someone had professionally blow dried and done my hair so this is going to be a definite love of mine this month. (of course I forgot to include this in the photograph...)

*prices shown above are for full size

Really excited to carry on my subscription to Birchbox and see what exciting things I receive in the future.

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page