top of page

2017 Favourites


2017 was the year of me trying lots of different new products and falling in love with a fair few of them. However, I thought I wouldn't restrict myself to just makeup in this 2017 favourites and thought I'd include some of my absolute favourites from this year ranging from makeup to books to shoes.

My first favourite is the black and white old skool van trainers that I got for my birthday and fell absolutely in love with and eventually became my going out shoes because I ain't a fan of wearing heels on nights out because it always ends with my whinging in pain and walking home bare foot. So, to continue my love for these shoes I got a new pair which I featured in my what I got for Christmas post as I wanted another pair to go to university in as I may have wrecked this original pair from one too many nights out.

The Q and A a day book became a love of mine throughout the year as I have now managed to complete the full year and will then be filling out the second line of each page and I am excited to compare the two years against each other and see how different this year differs from the last.

Tarte Shape Tape officially changed my life this year, and that isn't even an overstatement. I have never fallen so deeply in love with a makeup product like I did with this in my life. You can watch any beauty gurus videos to have it mentioned after less than 5 minutes. It is high coverage and lasts all day and really what more do you want from a concealer especially when all I ever seem to be is disappointed by product after product.

The Anastasia Moon Child palette is another one of my favourite sets of highlighters especially for nights out when I'm looking for an extra af glow especially in pretty colours like the purples that are in the palette. I'm starting to realise how many highlighters are on my favourites list but I think that is mainly because I truly discovered the life of the glow in 2017.

Just anything Jeffree Star creates makes my world tick. Firstly, I got both of the Jeffree Star eyeshadow palettes this year - Androgyny and Beauty Killer. They're so pigmented, blend flawlessly and although the colours do look a little bit daunting especially to someone who is a little bit colour phobic but somehow they work and make an amazing eye makeup for day and night. Secondly for Christmas I was treated to the Jeffree Star Skin Frost Pro Palette in Platinum Ice and I cannot even begin to explain how blinding this palette it and the colours look amazing on! I think I may even purchase the 24K palette because I am a sucker for any highlighter! This year I added many more Jeffree Star lipsticks to my collection and my favourites from 2017 are Gemini, Celebrity Skin, Androgyny, and Unicorn Blood. These lipsticks are long lasting and look good on what more could you possibly want?

The Violet Voss Holy Grail eyeshadow palette has to be my most used palette this year as it is just so beautiful, wearable and all round just amazing on. To be perfectly honest I bought it because someone said it was dupe for the Anastasia Renaissance palette but when I got it I realised it was much more than that.

My 7th favourite is nothing that anyone else can really buy but it is my student house for second year at university. I don't think I have ever loved somewhere other than home like this, as a household we managed to turn our broken house into somewhere you'd love to live and made it truly a home and I adore my uni room more than anything and will be sad to see it go when it's finally time when I move out for third year. I will do a uni room tour sometime in the new year when I move back in from home!

A very random favourite but one I can now no longer live without it Blistex lipbalm. When out for lunch with my dad one day I was complaining of dry lips and cold sore like symptoms and he suggested this and it has meant I haven't had dry lips since (well apart from when I forgot to take it to Lapland) and it really has meant that my lips have been taken care of even though I do wear matte liquid lipsticks everyday.

Although me and this mascara have had a love hate relationship before 2017, I finally fell in love with it in 2017 as I moved from the original mascara to the Better than Sex Waterproof mascara as with this mascara being waterproof it escapes the problem of it smudging and running combined with the max volume and curl of the original mascara so ultimately it is a dream team!

The day I got back on the iPhone life was a truly very happy day. Me and android don't get on very well to play the least as my hatred got to a breaking point when I decided to practically play baseball with my Samsung phone in IKEA which I think truly sums up my hate for it. So getting an iPhone 8+ was a very happy day as to me they are the superior phone and hey give me credit for trying out Samsung all be it me hating every moment!

The boots in the picture are unfortunately not the same pair I own although very similar. I purchased a pair of embroidered boots from Primark and they were my go to as soon as I bought them, I was constantly receiving complements on them and people asking me where they were from and people being shocked at the very low price tag of £14.

My final favourite of the year was another highlighter (shocked I know). The Fenty highlighter in Trophy Wife is a love of many people this year I can imagine. It was released while I was in Abu Dhabi so I visited my local Sephora to test some of the makeup (the foundation would have probably been in this favourites if the woman hadn't matched me like 20 shades to light but I'll save that rant for another day). This highlighter is B-L-I-N-D-I-N-G! When I first tried it I put a little too much on for me personally and I think it's safe to say I was glowing to the gods!

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page